Rural Fire Service Logo  

The Bilpin Bush Run

shim shim shim



Bilpin Bush Run

Saturday 20th August 2016


History of the Willy2Billy

The Mt Wilson to Bilpin Bush Run or 'Willy2Billy', was the idea of a former Mt Wilson resident and bush runner Ross Bill. Ross, in his training runs, mapped the course and after 12 months of persistence, in mid 1995, convinced the Bilpin Rural Fire Brigade to organise the event in conjunction with the Mt Wilson Rural Fire Brigade. The first run was organised in just 3 months with 66 starters with Andrew Lloyd the winner.

The original course extended over 34.4k through fire trails, bush tracks, down a dirt road to the valley floor at Bowens Creek with the race record set by Glen Guzzo in 2004 at 2:07:31

Sadly in 2012 the race had to be cancelled. A landslip on Bowen's Creek Road in 2013 permanently closed the route forcing the Bilpin RFS to cancel the race indefinitely.

2014 saw the inaugural Bilpin Bush Run take place with James Matthews crossing the line in first place in a time of 2:38:59. Beth Cardelli took out the female title in a time of 2:45:43

Our thanks again go to our major sponsor, the North Richmond Community Bank® Branch of the Bendigo Bank.



shim shim shim